Let The Darkness Out (Score only) Alto Sax Concerto - John P. Lynch Collection

Title: Let The Darkness Out (score and parts)

Composer: Catherine Likhuta 

Genre: Alto Saxophone Concerto with Wind Symphony 

Level: Grade 5

Duration: 12'20"

Scoring: score, picc, fl 1-2, ob1-2, eng hn, cl 1-2-3, b/c, bsn 1-2, a/s 1-2, t/s, b/s, hn 1-2-3-4, tpt 1-2-3, tbn 1-2, b tbn, euph 1-2, tba, timp (4), pno (featured), harp

Percussion 1: Toms (4), Bongos + Conga Drum, Gong (lg.), Bass Drum, Triangle (med.), Wind Chimes 

Percussion 2: Vibraphone, Marimba, Tambourine (shared)

Percussion 3: Xylophone, Glockenspiel, Bass Drum (shared), Triangle (med.)

Percussion 4: Snare Drum, Cymbal (med.), Crotales (bowed), Tambourine (shared)   

Notes: This saxophone concerto version of Let the Darkness Out was created for Michael Duke, John Lynch and The SCM Wind Symphony.  In its original 2011 version, Let the Darkness Out is a virtuosic sonata for alto saxophone and piano, and is one of my most internationally performed pieces to date. Shortly after moving to Australia in 2012, I heard about Michael Duke as one of the country’s most prominent saxophonists and champions of new saxophone repertoire. Incidentally, around the same time, Michael was attending an international conference in the United States and heard about me and my music from the current president of the North American Saxophone Alliance, Griffin Campbell, who had toured Darkness for several concert seasons. Since then, I had great pleasure to collaborate with Michael and his internationally renowned ensemble HD Duo. At some point during our collaboration, Michael came up with the idea to turn Darkness into a saxophone concerto and gave me inspiration and support to make this idea a reality. I felt very comfortable (and excited!) making this new version for John Lynch and the SCM Wind Symphony–one of the absolute best wind ensembles in the country. Inspired by these fine musicians, the piece aims to highlight the expressive and virtuosic features of a stellar saxophone soloist, matched and supported by a confident and powerful ensemble.   


(c) 2019 Catherine Likhuta

LIK201901 Licensed Print Music Edition (c) 2019 Maestros With a Mission Pty Ltd